San Diego California’s top cannabis attorney and San Dego chapter head of NORML Michael Cindrich answers questions about the new marijuana laws in California and how they effect the general public and patients.
Here is a list of the california and federal cannabis related legal questions he answered:
How old do you have to be to enter a dispensary in the state of California?
You have to be 21 years or older to enter a dispensary in California unless you are 18 and older and have a medical requisition or prescription from a medical doctor.
How much flower can I buy in a California dispensary?
You can legally buy up to 1 ounce of flower at a time in a California dispensary as of January 1, 2018.
How much edibles or concentrates can I buy at a time in a California dispensary?
In the state of California, as of 2018 after recreational cannabis sales started, consumers can buy up to 8 grams of edibles or concentrates at a time.
How often can I visit the same California Dispensary?
Only one time per day
Can I visit a California dispensary if I am in California on vacation and I only have and out of state ID or out of state drivers license?
Yes, people on vacation or vacationing in California can enter a recreational dispensary if they are 21 years or older and have a valid out of state ID card or drivers license.
Can people who are on vacation in California, that purchase cannabis products take home their excess cannabis?
No, all cannabis purchased in California must be consumed in California and cannot legally leave the state due to federal law making it illegal for cannabis to cross state lines.
Now that cannabis is legal in California, when I’m visiting Los Angeles or San Francisco can I smoke anywhere I want?
Unfortunately no, you can only smoke or medicate or consume marijuana, weed, cannabis in private locations or private residences.